top of page

Keeping your toddler at home with a Nanny.


I have been seeing so many posts lately about sick toddlers who just keep picking up so many nasties at day care week after week.....Harper is 2.5 years old now and is still at home with a nanny. We are so incredibly blessed to be able to keep her at home (which we'd like to continue doing until she is about 4 years old) We'd then like to send her to a Day Care for 2 years until we start with pre-primary.

After my maternity leave ended and I sadly headed back to work I was lucky enough to have my mom look after Harper for a couple of months, we then found a lovely lady who took on the mammoth task of looking after our Harper day after day.

Harper has thrived at home with her nanny (whom she loves dearly). The one-on-one attention is exactly what my little one needs. I know I am biased but Harper seems so advanced for her age, she has reached all of her milestones "ahead of time."

She is hardly EVER sick - like ever! Occasionally she would get a little sniffle but it would disappear by the following day. She gets all the attention that her heart desires and enjoys lots of playtime and fun activities with her nanny.

I hate to think of how different the above could have been if we had not decided to keep her at home with a nanny. I am so super happy that we made the right choice for our Harper.

The nanny also does some cleaning around the house while Harper naps, so this is a great help to me. (Nobody likes getting home at 5.30pm and having to put on a load of washing while seeing to all the other hundreds of tasks that needs to be done after work)

When we do eventually send Harper to a Day Care, we'd still like to keep her nanny on as we'd like Harper to come home half-day, so the nanny could take care of cleaning etc during the mornings and see to Harper in the afternoons!

That's the plan, so we'll see how it goes.

bottom of page